Mt. Diablo Silverado Council STEM Committee


Dr. Michael McDowell-Committee Chair

Michael is the current MDSC STEM Committee Chair. He began his involvement with the STEM program in Boy Scouts with his Wood Badge ticket back in 2012/2013. He has a PhD in Biochemistry from the University of California, Davis. He's a recovering Scoutmaster, so now in his spare time, he serves as an Assistant District Commissioner in Pleasant Hill, CA. He is also an Eagle Scout. Michael's paying job is teaching Chemistry at Diablo Valley College in Pleasant Hill.

For all STEM inquiries, please contact Michael at

Dr. Bart Gledhill-Committee Chair Emeritus

Bart also serves currently as MDSC representative to the BSA National Council and is a former member of the National STEM committee. He has served in multiple roles since the early '80's, as Scoutmaster of T216 and as staff member/course director of adult and youth training programs for Council, Area and National teams. He is a retired veterinarian and biomedical scientist and has served as a consultant to the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, City College of San Francisco, American Association of Community Colleges, and the National Science Foundation.

Alan Young

From a budding entomologist writing about spittlebugs in 2nd grade, Alan went on to graduate Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with B.S. degrees in Physics and Math, and the University of Arizona with an M.S. in Atmospheric Sciences. He serves as staff advisor to the council STEM Committee.

Dr. Caroline Tsuyuki

Caroline holds Masters and Doctorate degrees in biochemistry from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She currently teaches Advanced Placement Chemistry and Biotechnology at Carondelet High School and is part of a STEM Innovations Team launching young women into research in STEM fields. She serves as an Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 200, Lafayette, a member of the Mount Diablo Silverado Council Board and is on the STEM Advisory Committee of the BSA National Foundation.

Norman Gee

Norman is a retired investment manager who has been fiddling with science and technology since he was a teen. He has been involved with Scouting since 1999 and volunteers with Briones District, Council, and Area 3. He's a Wolfeboro Pioneer and a Vigil member of the Order of the Arrow.

Dr. Bruce McGurk

Bruce is a Unit Commissioner for two Packs and a Troop, a former Scoutmaster, and Asst. District Commissioner for Moraga. He holds a PhD in hydrology, and has a background in wildlife biology, forestry, snow science, water management, and reservoir operations.

Michael Finley

Michael graduated with a B. Chem from UMIT and spent 30 years as a chemist in the refining/environmental industries. He was also a pilot in the U.S. Air Force and has 20 years’ Scouting experience as a Scoutmaster, Committee Chair, and Chartered Organization Representative.

Jim McManus

Having been interested in STEM for as long as he can remember, Jim has spent most of his career in engineering and is currently working with world-leading laser technology. He has a technical qualification and an MBA from the University of Kent at Canterbury. Has been a Den Leader, ASM, Scoutmaster and is currently a committee member with Troop 2020 in Brentwood, Advisor with Crew 236 in Danville, and member of the MDSC STEM Committee. His son is an Eagle Scout

Tracy Peters

Tracy Peters is...

Clayton Peddy

For over 20 years, Clayton has worked in Computer Science, leading the innovation and mentoring of software projects worldwide. He serves on the boards of several non-profits and higher education advisory committees, volunteers in Scouting, and proudly serves on the STEM committee.

Praveen Nori

Praveen was educated as a Mechanical engineer, and is currently working as an Information Security Consultant, Praveen enjoys all aspects of STEM, particularly the "Wow" expression on a kid's face at the end of the experiment. He currently serves as Committee Chair with Pack 841.

Close Menu